Comparison
Creality Falcon A1 vs xTool S1: Budget or Big Enclosed Laser?
Creality's $549 enclosed 10W laser against xTool's $1,699 enclosed 40W: power, bed size, camera, safety features, software and who each one suits. Plus where the $1,099 Falcon A1 Pro fits.
This page contains affiliate links; we may earn from purchases made through them. Learn more
Our pick
xTool
xTool S1 40W
8.1/10 research score40W, 498 × 319 mm bed, flame detection and passthrough, for $1,699.
Creality Falcon
Creality Falcon A1
7.5/10 research score10W with an HD camera and air assist set, for $549.
Creality Falcon
Creality Falcon A1 Pro
8.1/10 research score20W + 2W infrared, flame detection, camera and autofocus, for $1,099.
The short answer
The xTool S1 if you want to cut: 40W, a bigger bed, flame detection and passthrough. The Creality Falcon A1 if you mainly engrave and want a camera for $549. The Falcon A1 Pro ($1,099) splits the difference with 20W, an infrared laser, flame detection and a camera.
Both are enclosed Class 1 diode lasers that can run safely in a home, but the xTool S1 costs three times as much as the Creality Falcon A1. Here's what the difference buys, and where the Falcon A1 Pro fits, from published specs and brand-store prices on October 18, 2026. We have not tested them ourselves; see how we research.
Specs compared
| Spec | xTool xTool S1 40W | Creality Falcon Creality Falcon A1 | Creality Falcon Creality Falcon A1 Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research score | 8.1/10 research score | 7.5/10 research score | 8.1/10 research score |
| List price | $1,699 | $549 | $1,099 |
| Laser | |||
| Laser power | 40 W (best) | 10 W | 20 W |
| Laser source | 40W blue diode (2W 1064 nm infrared module available as an add-on kit) | 10W blue diode | 20W blue diode + 2W 1064 nm infrared |
| Wavelength | Not published | 455 ± 15 nm | 455 ± 5 nm (diode), 1064 ± 1 nm (infrared) |
| Spot size | 0.08 × 0.10 mm (40W) | Not published | Not published |
| Work area and speed | |||
| Work area width | 498 mm (best) | 305 mm | 268 mm |
| Work area length | 319 mm | 381 mm (best) | 358 mm |
| Maximum speed | 600 mm/s | 600 mm/s | 600 mm/s |
| Maximum material height | 42 mm | Not published | Not published |
| Thickest wood cut | Not published | Not published | 10 mm |
| Safety | |||
| Fully enclosed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Laser safety class | Class 1 | Class 1 | Class 1 |
| Flame detection | Yes | Not published | Yes |
| Emergency stop | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Features | |||
| Camera | Not published | Yes | Yes |
| Autofocus | Yes | Not published | Yes |
| Air assist | No | Yes | Yes |
| Rotary support | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pass-through | Yes | Not published | Not published |
| Software and connectivity | |||
| Software | xTool Creative Space (xTool Studio), LightBurn | Falcon Design Space, LightBurn, LaserGRBL | Falcon Design Space, LightBurn, LaserGRBL |
| LightBurn support | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Connectivity | USB, Wi-Fi | Not published | Not published |
| Size and warranty | |||
| Weight | 44.1 lb | 34.3 lb (best) | 37 lb |
| Dimensions | 765 × 561 × 183 mm (268 mm tall with the riser base) | 567 × 468 × 196 mm | 567 × 468 × 211 mm |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year |
| Where to buy | Check price at xTool (opens in a new tab) | Check price at Creality Falcon (opens in a new tab) | Check price at Creality Falcon (opens in a new tab) |
Side by side
| Feature | xTool S1 40W | Creality Falcon A1 | Creality Falcon A1 Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Laser | 40W diode | 10W diode | 20W diode + 2W infrared |
| Work area | 498 × 319 mm | 305 × 381 mm | 268 × 358 mm |
| Camera | No | Yes | Yes |
| Flame detection | Yes | Not stated | Yes (AI, with app alerts) |
| Emergency stop | Yes | Yes | Yes, plus tilt and drop stop |
| Autofocus | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Air assist | Optional set | Set included | Built in |
| Price | $1,699 | $549 | $1,099 |
Power: the S1 cuts far more
Forty watts against ten is the biggest difference. The S1 handles real wood-cutting projects and signs; the A1 is mainly an engraver that can cut thin material slowly. If you plan to cut more than you engrave, the S1 or the A1 Pro is the better buy.
Convenience: the Falcons have cameras
Both Falcons place designs with an HD camera. The S1 relies on framing and a crosshair, which Maker Hacks found accurate but still listed as a drawback.
Safety
All three are Class 1. The S1 and A1 Pro add flame detection; Creality's A1 page lists an emergency stop and lid stop but not flame detection, so never leave it running unattended (you shouldn't with any laser).
Which to buy
- xTool S1: cutting wood and opaque acrylic, large projects, passthrough. Read the review.
- Creality Falcon A1: engraving gifts and small items on a tight budget, with a camera.
- Creality Falcon A1 Pro: a camera, flame detection and metal marking in one box for $1,099.
More choices in best laser engravers under $1,000 and best for beginners.
Frequently asked questions
Can the Creality Falcon A1 cut wood?
Do both work with LightBurn?
Which has a camera?
Sources
Specs, prices and claims in this article come from these sources.
- Creality Falcon A1 product page · Creality Falcon · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- Creality Falcon A1 Pro product page · Creality Falcon · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- xTool S1 product page · xTool · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- xTool S1 review · Maker Hacks · accessed Oct 18, 2026
Written by
Research and editing
The LaserEngravers editorial team researches laser engravers from manufacturer documents, published measurements and owner reports.