Best-of list
Best Laser Engravers for Beginners (2026)
The easiest, safest laser engravers to learn on: Class 1 enclosures, cameras for placing designs, autofocus and simple software, from $499.
This page contains affiliate links; we may earn from purchases made through them. Learn more
Our picks at a glance
-
Best for beginners
Crafters who want a safe, simple first laser for paper, wood and stickers
8.0/10 research score - 7.6/10 research score
-
Cheapest enclosed laser with a camera
A safe, low-cost first laser for engraving gifts at home
7.5/10 research score - 8.1/10 research score
-
Simplest software
Beginners who want the simplest possible setup for paper and thin wood
6.6/10 research score
Our verdict
The xTool M2 ($499 for 10W) is the best first laser: Class 1, two cameras, autofocus and built-in air assist. The WeCreat Vista ($590) adds flame detection and LightBurn support, and the Creality Falcon A1 ($549) is the cheapest enclosed laser with a camera. If you want to grow into metal, the Creality Falcon A1 Pro ($1,099) adds an infrared laser.
For a first laser, safety and ease matter more than raw power. Every pick here is a Class 1 enclosed machine that keeps the beam inside the case and has a camera for placing designs, so you can learn without laser glasses (you still need to vent the smoke). We compared published specs, reviews and store prices on October 18, 2026. We have not tested these machines ourselves; see how we research.
Compared
| Model | Laser | Work area | Camera | Autofocus | Air assist | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| xTool M2 | 10W diode (20W option) | 426 × 320 mm | Yes (2) | Yes | Built in | $499 |
| WeCreat Vista | 10W diode | 414 × 290 mm | Yes | Yes | Yes | $590 |
| Creality Falcon A1 | 10W diode | 305 × 381 mm | Yes | Not stated | Set included | $549 |
| Creality Falcon A1 Pro | 20W diode + 2W IR | 268 × 358 mm | Yes | Yes | Built in | $1,099 |
| Glowforge Aura | 6W diode | 305 × 305 mm | Yes (2) | Yes | Not stated | $1,199 |
Brand-store prices and specs, October 18, 2026.
Best for beginners: xTool M2
From $499 you get a TÜV-certified Class 1 enclosure, a panoramic and a close-range camera, autofocus and a built-in air assist pump, plus optional CMYK inkjet printing for print-then-cut crafts. The 10W cuts 8 mm basswood in one pass by xTool's figures; the 20W ($899) cuts 10 mm. It is new, so there is little long-term owner data yet.
Best for tumblers: WeCreat Vista
The Vista's FlipLaser head engraves 40 oz tumblers inside the enclosure without risers, and it adds flame detection and full LightBurn support for $590 (WeCreat lists $1,090 as the compare-at price). It cuts about 6 mm basswood.
Cheapest enclosed with a camera: Creality Falcon A1
Class 1, an HD camera, an emergency stop and an air assist set for $549, and it works with LightBurn. Creality doesn't publish a cutting depth, and 10W is slow for cutting.
Best to grow into: Creality Falcon A1 Pro
Adds a 2W infrared laser for bare metal, AI flame detection with app alerts and autofocus, for $1,099. A good step if you expect to engrave metal gifts or start selling.
Simplest software: Glowforge Aura
Glowforge's web app and QR-coded Proofgrade materials are the easiest workflow of all, and reviewers loved them. But 6W is weak for $1,199, and it needs Wi-Fi to work. Read our Aura review.
Before you buy
Plan where the smoke goes (a window vent or a purifier), keep a fire extinguisher nearby, and read laser engraver safety. Still unsure? Try the laser engraver finder or see best laser engravers under $1,000.
The picks in detail
1. xTool M2
List price $499 (as of Oct 2026)
Class 1 with two cameras, autofocus and built-in air assist from $499 (10W); optional inkjet printing.
Pros
- Class 1 enclosed from $499
- Cameras, autofocus and air assist included
- Optional inkjet print-and-cut
Cons
- 10W cuts only thin material
- Diode laser: no clear acrylic
- New model, no long-term data
2. WeCreat Vista
List price $590 (as of Oct 2026)
Class 1 with flame detection, a riser-free tumbler rotary and LightBurn support, for $590.
Pros
- Class 1 with flame detection from $590
- Tumblers without risers
- Camera, autofocus, air assist and LightBurn
Cons
- 10W: about 6 mm wood at most
- Diode laser: no clear acrylic
- Infrared module costs extra
3. Creality Falcon A1
List price $549 (as of Oct 2026)
Class 1, HD camera and air assist included, for $549.
Pros
- Class 1 enclosure with a camera for $549
- Air assist included
- Works with LightBurn
Cons
- 10W: thin, slow cuts
- No published cutting depth
- Diode laser: no clear acrylic or bare metal
4. Creality Falcon A1 Pro
List price $1,099 (as of Oct 2026)
20W diode plus infrared for bare metal, with flame detection and autofocus, for $1,099.
Pros
- Class 1 with flame detection and tilt stop
- Diode + infrared for wood and metal
- Camera, autofocus and air assist built in
Cons
- Smaller 268 × 358 mm area
- 20W diode: moderate cutting
- New model, limited owner data
5. Glowforge Aura
List price $1,199 (as of Oct 2026)
The easiest app and Proofgrade presets, but only 6W, for $1,199 list.
Pros
- Very easy setup and web app
- Class 1 enclosure with two cameras
- Passthrough slot
Cons
- Only 6W: slow, thin cuts
- Needs Wi-Fi and the cloud app
- Not for glass, clear, white or blue acrylic
| Spec | xTool xTool M2 | WeCreat WeCreat Vista | Creality Falcon Creality Falcon A1 | Creality Falcon Creality Falcon A1 Pro | Glowforge Glowforge Aura |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Research score | 8.0/10 research score | 7.6/10 research score | 7.5/10 research score | 8.1/10 research score | 6.6/10 research score |
| List price | $499 | $590 | $549 | $1,099 | $1,199 |
| Laser | |||||
| Laser power | 10 W | 10 W | 10 W | 20 W (best) | 6 W |
| Laser source | 10W blue diode (20W version; 3W infrared and CMYK inkjet modules are add-ons) | 10W blue diode (2W infrared module available) | 10W blue diode | 20W blue diode + 2W 1064 nm infrared | 6W blue diode (450 nm) |
| Wavelength | Not published | Not published | 455 ± 15 nm | 455 ± 5 nm (diode), 1064 ± 1 nm (infrared) | 450 nm |
| Spot size | 0.04 × 0.06 mm (10W), 0.06 × 0.08 mm (20W) | 0.06 × 0.04 mm | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Work area and speed | |||||
| Work area width | 426 mm (best) | 414 mm | 305 mm | 268 mm | 305 mm |
| Work area length | 320 mm | 290 mm | 381 mm (best) | 358 mm | 305 mm |
| Maximum speed | 600 mm/s | Not published | 600 mm/s | 600 mm/s | Not published |
| Maximum material height | Not published | 40 mm (best) | Not published | Not published | 19 mm |
| Thickest wood cut | 8 mm | 6 mm | Not published | 10 mm (best) | 6 mm |
| Safety | |||||
| Fully enclosed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Laser safety class | Class 1 | Class 1 | Class 1 | Class 1 | Class 1 (embedded Class 4 laser) |
| Flame detection | Not published | Yes | Not published | Yes | Not published |
| Emergency stop | Not published | Not published | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Features | |||||
| Camera | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Autofocus | Yes | Yes | Not published | Yes | Yes |
| Air assist | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Rotary support | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Pass-through | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Software and connectivity | |||||
| Software | xTool Studio | WeCreat MakeIt, LightBurn | Falcon Design Space, LightBurn, LaserGRBL | Falcon Design Space, LightBurn, LaserGRBL | Glowforge web app (internet connection required) |
| LightBurn support | Not published | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Connectivity | USB, Wi-Fi | Not published | Not published | Not published | Wi-Fi required (2.4 GHz) |
| Size and warranty | |||||
| Weight | 27.1 lb | 32 lb | 34.3 lb | 37 lb | 19 lb (best) |
| Dimensions | 610 × 569 × 180 mm | 643 × 471 × 166 mm | 567 × 468 × 196 mm | 567 × 468 × 211 mm | 22 × 20.5 × 5 in |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year |
| Where to buy | Check price at xTool (opens in a new tab) | Check price at WeCreat (opens in a new tab) | Check price at Creality Falcon (opens in a new tab) | Check price at Creality Falcon (opens in a new tab) | Check price at Glowforge (opens in a new tab) |
Frequently asked questions
Is a laser engraver hard to learn?
What should a beginner make first?
Should a beginner buy a diode or a CO2 laser?
Sources
Specs, prices and claims in this article come from these sources.
- xTool M2 product page · xTool · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- WeCreat Vista product page · WeCreat · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- Creality Falcon A1 product page · Creality Falcon · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- Creality Falcon A1 Pro product page · Creality Falcon · accessed Oct 18, 2026
- Glowforge Aura review: affordable and fun laser cutter · Reviewed · accessed Oct 18, 2026
Written by
Research and editing
The LaserEngravers editorial team researches laser engravers from manufacturer documents, published measurements and owner reports.